​THE MISSING SPICE – EPISODE 11

The pastor and the wife felt sorry for them as they narrated their story.

“Dennis… Lisa…. God is able to restore all things. He’s the mender of anything that’s broken. He can help you, if and only if you would permit him again. It may be that during these times you’ve felt like he’s been silent in your marriage. But he is really near, for he has said he’ll never leave us nor forsake us. And his promises are yea and amen. Those times came only to make your faith stronger in him!” said the pastor.

“Now I want to ask you both as the first step! Dennis… Lisa… Do you two want to preserve this marriage? Do you two want this marriage to work again? If you aren’t willing God cannot intervene.”

The two stared at each other in silence upon the question the pastor asked.

“Pastor, I don’t want this marriage to fall apart. I want our marriage to work” Dennis finally said, after a period of silence.

“Why?” the pastor asked.

“I love my wife, pastor! I love Lisa. And that is why I married her. She’s the only woman on earth I want be with. She’s the only woman I’d want to spend the rest of my life with! And I wouldn’t trade my love for her for another woman, pastor”

Lisa was almost in tears as she realized that her husband still loved her and wasn’t cheating on her. The pastor asked her same.

“Yes pastor! I want our marriage to work again! I love Dennis so much and I can’t imagine losing him.”

The pastor gave a smile knowing that was the first step of reconciliation for the couple.
He went on inside and then later came back with two bibles. He placed one in front of the couple, and then placed the other one before him and his wife.

“Dennis. Kindly open to Romans 11: 36 and read it to our hearing.” The pastor asked.

So Dennis opened to that part of scripture and read it out
“Romans 11:36… For from him and through Him and to Him are all things. [For all things originate with Him and come from Him; all things live through Him and all things center in and tend to consummate and to end in Him]. To Him be glory forever! Amen (so be it).”

The pastor again asked Lisa to read out the scripture.

“Do you understand what you just read?” he asked them.

They shook their head in negation. “I’m not sure if I understand, Pastor”, said Dennis.

“Alright. Now I want you two to hold your hands and look into each other’s eyes.”

That was difficult for them since they both could not remember the last time they even held hands or looked into each other’s eyes. It was difficult for Lisa especially. But Dennis braced himself, looked into Lisa’s eyes and reached out for her hands. Lisa whose eyes were getting filled with tears didn’t hold back, but allowed her husband to take her hands in his.

#TheMissingSpice

©Dorothy Budu-Arthur, 2017

WordPress:   https://dorothybuduarthur.wordpress.com/

Facebook:  https://m.facebook.com/dorothybuduarthur.blog/

2 thoughts on “​THE MISSING SPICE – EPISODE 11

Leave a comment