Guys,  may I interrupt? Yes, I think I’ve got one or two things to share as the series is coming to an end soon. 
Whew! You know, sometimes I get people asking, “Why Christian stories? Why not something else?” 
The truth is, I know there are lots of writers out there, and everyone has what inspires him/her to write. I have come to realize that I wouldn’t want to write just because I want to. (Story writing can be tedious,  trust me!). 

So I ask myself, what can people lean on for strength and for hope? What can people put their trust in, and will not fail them? It is the Word of God. You may not agree, but the word of God is true and reliable. And for that matter I always want to give my readers reason for their faith in God through his word to be increased. 

“Mark 4: 35- 41 has been  the theme scripture for this series. Personally it has challenged me to have much faith in God 

“On that same day when evening had come, He said to them, Let us go over to the other side of the lake. And leaving the throng, they took Him with them, [just] as He was, in the boat [in which He was sitting]. And other boats were with Him… And a furious storm of wind [of hurricane proportions] arose “and the waves kept beating the boat, so that it was already becoming filled! But He [Himself] was in the stern of the boat asleep on the leather cushion. And they awoke Him and said to Him, Master, do you not care that we are perishing? And he arose and rebuked the wind and said to the sea, Peace! Be still! And the wind ceased… and there was a great calm (a perfect peacefulness) He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?”



This scripture describes most of the challenges we face in life. 

Dark clouds, lightning, violent winds, rumbling and thundering mostly accompany storms. In our lives sometimes we experience all that. In our relationships, marriages, health etc, we do have stormy moments. But from this scripture, I want us to have a practically know how to deal with our storms. 

Whatever storm of life that you may be going through, ask yourself, “Have I invited Jesus into this situation that I’m going through?” 

The disciples had Jesus in their boat when they were on the sea. On this sea of life that you find yourself, do you have Jesus in your ‘Boat’? He is Lord over every challenge that you may be experiencing, and it becomes much easier if you invite him in first. Maybe you haven’t asked Jesus to take over your health, relationship, marriage etc. it isn’t too late. He is just a prayer away. Or maybe you haven’t invited him into your life yet. Maybe you did that  some time back, but you haven’t had any personal relationship with Jesus. It isn’t too late. He is near. Just prayerfully invite him into your life. 

Complaints, nagging, weeping, being depressed won’t still the storm you are going through. No, it won’t. Peter was complaining to Jesus, “Don’t you care?” And when the storm was over Jesus asked them, “Do you still not have faith?” It is our faith he’s looking for: Faith in Him. So turn all tears and complaints into prayer.

Lois in the series made us realize that believers have the authority to speak to situations to bring stillness and peace, because Jesus lives in our heart! Remember the scripture in Job? “You shall decree a thing, and it will be established!” 

Mostly we fail to exercise our authority as Christians! But you have to speak to the storm! Speak to your marriage which is failing through the authority we have in Christ Jesus.

Most people complain that in their challenging times, they seem not to find God when they search for him. I have experienced that several times. You find yourself going through difficult times, yet you tend to feel so lonely as though God isn’t with you. Sometimes you can’t ‘feel’ His presence when you really want to. It’s as though he ‘hides himself’ from you.

A friend once asked me, “Does God sometimes withdraw himself in the midst of tests?” I honestly didn’t know what answer to give. But I found myself visiting the book of Job in the Bible. Chapter 23. Reading it gave me answers:

8 “But if I go to the east, he is not there;

    if I go to the west, I do not find him.

9 When he is at work in the north, I do not see him;

    when he turns to the south, I catch no glimpse of him.

10 But he knows the way that I take;

    when he has tested me, I will come forth as gold.

11 My feet have closely followed his steps;

    I have kept to his way without turning aside.

12 I have not departed from the commands of his lips;

    I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my daily bread.

God withdrawing from us sometimes in the midst of trials and the storm only means that we tend to perceive him less.
 Job wanted to find Him.. .Go to Him… Speak to Him… Discuss his situation with Him… Get answers from him. Yet he couldn’t find Him nor see Him. He couldn’t even catch a glimpse of his God. 

Sometimes we feel that way. And in such a situation you would feel like God has withdrawn himself . (But let’s not forget that sin separates us from Him)

There are some things Job highlighted. Though he couldn’t feel God in his stormy situation, Job continued to do the things which would draw him closer to God:

Job followed closely after God.

Job departed from sin

Job treasured the Word of God. 

In the midst of life storms let your attitude be like Job’s. Follow closely after God through prayer, praise and worship. We can’t do without prayer in our challenging moments! In the midst of your storm depart from sin! In the midst of the storm let the Word of God be your strength as you meditate on it, and decree it over your life and your situation in prayer!

I believe this series has greatly transformed your life. And remember what Ashley said to Lois, 

“…Until the storm is over, don’t stop trusting God… Don’t stop having faith in His word… Don’t stop inviting Him to take over your situation… Until the storm is over, don’t stop praying!”

God bless you!

Dorothy Budu-Arthur.

4 thoughts on “UNTIL THE STORM IS OVER : EP 27

Leave a Reply

