The assertion raised by Counsel Jojo Annan, Ashley’s Defendant seemed convincing, yet it wasn’t substantive enough to free Ashley. Thus the sitting Judge adjourned the case. 

**********

“Ash… I’m really sorry! I didn’t mean to complicate things. I really got confused when he asked me those questions!” Rhoda pleaded with her sister when they went back to the police station. 

“It’s okay” Ashley managed to say with a faint smile. 

Lois wished that she could do something to help, but she just didn’t know what. Looking at Ashley in that state made her sad. 

“Now we don’t know what your prosecutors intend doing, Miss Banks. But we really need substantive evidence to win this case! Logical reasoning might not be enough!” Jojo pointed out as Eddy nodded in agreement. “And we all have to be praying and asking God to intervene!”

Moving further close to Ashley Jojo added, “Ashley. You really need to be positive and hopeful! It’s necessary to have a winning mentality! I personally believe that God is able to help us too!”

“Why are you all bringing up God?” Ashley fumed. “God hasn’t ever cared for me, so what shows that he’s going to care or hear me now?”

Jojo and Eddy were shocked. 

“Ashley… I know I’m just your lawyer in this matter. And I know if not for the fact that your lawyer disappointed you, our paths wouldn’t have crossed!”

“Yes so that confirms that He hasn’t ever cared! I made the effort and got a lawyer for this case and the best help God could give was to let my lawyer not show up in court!” She retorted.

“Maybe all that is part of His perfect will for you, Ash! Maybe He wanted to prove to you that your own efforts and strength can’t always win… I don’t know about the issue you have with God, Ash! I don’t know in what way you think He has disappointed you! But I just know that I’ve been there before! I’ve ever felt like not ever believing in Him! But the last thing you would ever want to do in the face of the storm is not to call out to Him; to face the storm with your own ability and not seek His help!” Jojo said sentimentally to Ashley as he also remembered his deceased wife and son. 

*********

Before Lois got into bed that evening, she spent some time committing all that was happening into God’s hands. She prayed that God would help her friend, and that He would protect her husband wherever he was since he hadn’t gotten in touch with her for days. 

As she read over Mark 4, getting to the verse which read, “… and they awoke Him and said to Him, Master, do you not care that we are perishing? And he arose and rebuked the wind and said to the sea, Peace! Be still! And the wind ceased… and there was a great calm (a perfect peacefulness)”, Lois realized that she had only limited herself to that place of “God don’t you care?” But from the scripture Jesus arose and spoke commanding everything to be still.

“Jesus spoke to the situation, and brought stillness…” She thought to herself as a few tears dropped. “Then if I’ve truly accepted Him in my heart as my Lord and my savior, then it means I should speak to the situation as he would have! I can speak to this turmoil in my marriage, and the rough phases that Ashley is going through, and by the authority of Jesus who is in me, command every storm and raging sea of this life to be still!” 

Truly Lois realized that she wallowed in despondency even as a Christian, but hadn’t spoken the peace of God and stillness upon the situation. She remembered scriptures which spoke about one shall decree a thing, and shall be established, and she wondered how come she never decreed peace and stillness upon her situation!

Getting down on her knees she prayed asking the Lord to forgive her for not exercising her authority as a believer. 
Then she prayed fervently saying, “Now because Jesus lives in me; because he has authority, and every power or dominion, raging sea and storm obeys Him, I command every violent storm trying to wreck my marriage and the lives of the people around me to die down right now! I command every storm of divorce, sadness, tears, depression and disagreement that has risen against my marriage to hush right now! In Jesus’ name!

And Lois resolved that night to pray in that manner, decreeing God’s peace upon her marriage and commanding the challenges to die down for her husband Scott to come back to her. She resolved to pray in that manner until the storm she was facing was over. 

********* 

[Job 22:28 “You shall also decide and decree a thing, and it shall be established for you; and the light of God’s favor shall shine upon your ways.” 

What have you decided? Have you decided to pray? Or you’ve decided to lose hope and cry because of the storms you are going through? What are you decreeing? Are you decreeing positive words over your situation? Or you are decreeing ‘All is lost!’ ‘I give up’ ‘God has failed me’? What are you establishing? What do you want to see in your situation? Do you want to see a lovely relationship? Peace in your parents’ marriage or even in your own marriage? You shall decree a thing, and it shall be established for you!] 


#UntilTheStormIsOver

©Dorothy Budu-Arthur, 2016

WordPress:   https://dorothybuduarthur.wordpress.com/

Facebook:  https://m.facebook.com/dorothybuduarthur.blog/

4 thoughts on “UNTIL THE STORM IS OVER: EP 19

  1. God bless you Dorothy. These series have been an eye opener. I’m not going to give up in my present situation. But I’m going to command the situation to turn in my favour. You’re a blessing to this generation. Keep doing what you do; I believe God is really working through you

    Like

Leave a Reply

